A happy, healthy and balanced life….

I have heard, read and even said it myself many times “failure to plan is planning to fail”. I have started eating healthy, planning out my meals and cooking my meals ahead of time, so I stay on track. After a trip to ShopRite, I come home, turn the music up, crack open a beer or have a glass of wine, cook and dance around the kitchen. I love to cook it relaxes me. I cook a big pot of sauce, meatballs, little egg omelette cups, vegetables, chicken, pork chops and many other things. I cut up my fruit, put it in containers for the week and put them in the refrigerator, so I am prepared for my meals and snacks for the week. I love the smell of my house when I’m cooking and even after, as it lingers. It can be exhausting preparing and cooking for the week, but the more exhausting part is cleaning the dishes, after you are done cooking. It does take a bit of your time to prepare and plan your meals. If you’re not someone who likes to cook, or don’t have the time, there are many companies now that prepare fresh meals and deliver them to your home.

I have been getting up and going to the gym before work in the morning. I am not looking to slim down and have a Barbie figure, as that dream faded along time ago. I am looking to be healthier and in better shape. I discovered going to the gym in the morning, I have more energy throughout my day, I don’t get that tired sluggish feeling mid day either. I also have been sleeping better at night and find I am not as hungry throughout the day. Going to the gym isn’t for everyone. I joined Planet Fitness, as it is within my budget and close to my home.

We all indulge every now and then, but if overall we are eating healthy and in good shape, I feel it cancels out those times we indulge. I will admit, it is so much easier to do nothing, then to do something. Also, in our busy lives between work, kids, animals, commitments etc. we are tired, so quick and fast are easier. Eating healthy can be more expensive, not as quick or easy, but I found eating out becomes more expensive in the long run. Unhealthy eating, can also effect your health, in the long run.

I am expecting my first grandchild in May of this year and I want to be around for a really long time to enjoy her and hopefully many more grandchildren to come in the future. So I will try my best to eat healthy, exercise and live a happy and hopefully long life.

We all need to enjoy life and sometimes we just have to turn up the music and dance. I feel we should all enjoy life do it makes us happy, be healthy and the best we can be each day. My thinking is, if you are healthy 80% of the time, it makes up for the unhealthy things you do the other 20% of the time. I also feel we do need to indulge every now and then. If we don’t treat ourselves, then we feel we’re being deprived and that’s when we tend to over indulge more than we should. Life is all about balance. We need to balance everything in our lives, our work, our family, our friends, our relationship, our health, etc. We can’t always find the right balance, but as long as we keep trying and adjusting as life is always changing, we go with what works during that time. Life can get overwhelming at times, it’s at those times we need to shift the balance to ourselves. As if we aren’t healthy, we are no good to the people depending on us.

Leave a comment